TPO 24 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that all parents what their child to have a promising future. When it comes to helping their teenage children prepare adult life, an increasing number of parents now encourage their kids to take a part-time job. From my perspective, having some part-time work experience can help the children in many aspects.

Firstly, some real-world work experience can help diminish the gap between the current study and work in the future for teenagers. By taking a part-time job, teenagers can use the knowledge they learn from school to solve the problems. These can help them become more practical and develop a way of critical thinking, which make them more competitive for their future job. My cousin's experience is a compelling example. He worked as a part-time technician in a computer store for three years when he was a college student. This job allowed him to use the knowledge he acquired to deal with many different electronic problems. This experience helped him get a job in a big company after graduate despite his average academic report as they needed a graduate with extensive knowledge on fixing electronic devices.

Secondly, taking a part-time job can help cultivate the personalities of independence and perseverance for the young generations. In a real part-time job, teenagers cannot rely on their parents and teachers anymore and they have to tackle many difficulties by themselves. My own experience exemplifies this idea. When I was studying computer science at the university, my father suggested that I found a part-time job which is closed to my background. I then chose to work for a small outsource project of building a website. In this temporary job, I encountered many program problems that never told in the class and I solved these problems by reading many reference books and searching the similar problem on the internet. Through this job, I not only became more economical independent by earning money by myself but also became patience in dealing with difficulties.

Finally, the part-time job provides excellent opportunities for teenagers to practice their social skills.

From example, image a 15 year ago boy, who is very shy and afraid of communicating with strangers, taking a part-time job in a convenience store. Because he has to chat with the customers every day, he has plenty of chances to polish his communication skills. So constantly, this boy becomes more sociable. There is also research found that those young students who had a part-time job experience are more socially active than those who do not have such experience.

From what has been discussed above, we could safely draw the conclusion that taking a part-time job has many advantages for teenage children, so parents so encourage their kids to have this experience.