TPO 24 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People show different attitudes towards how parents should prepare their kids for future adult life. In my opinion, I completely agree with the idea that teenagers should be encouraged to apply for a part-time job as a way to succeed in the labor market. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, working part-time equips juveniles with core skills for their upcoming careers. They will learn how to prepare sound presentations and how to present them effectively in front of other people. Besides, young people will be taught to arrange their time scientifically as they must arrange their daily agenda carefully to incorporate diverse activities. All those skills eventually contribute to their future success. My own experience exemplifies this idea. When I was studying at the university, my father suggested that I found a part-time job which is closed to my background. I then worked for a chocolate shop near my house for three hours a day after class. This temporary job was to blame for my negotiating skills as well as the improvement of my conversation ability in English.

Secondly, experience acquired in part-time job enriches youngsters' curriculum vitae which is usually weak. Fresh graduates are normally lack of real-life working experience. Therefore, the knowledge that they have gained in their previous short-term jobs plays an important role in attracting the attention of prospective employers. My cousin´s experience is a compelling example. He worked as a technician in a computer store for three years when he was a college student and this experience helped him to grip the attention of his current employer despite my cousin´s average academic report as they needed a graduate with extensive knowledge on fixing electronic devices.

In conclusion, working part-time is certainly pivotal in young people´ success in their adult life. This is because it helps them to gain vital skills and broaden their profile.