TPO 40 - Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People show different attitudes towards whether parents should reward their kids with money for academic achievements. While some argue that this method contains a lot of drawbacks, in my opinion, I completely agree with this approach due to its benefits. There are 2 reasons for my view which will be explored in the following essays.

First of all, money bonus is certainly ones of the best driving forces for children. By giving them a small amount of cash for each high grade they get at school, children are able to buy their favourite things like toys, books without asking for their parents´ financial support. This makes them utterly happy and eager to acquire more good marks. My own experience exemplifies this idea. When I was at school, my parents had to work hard thus did not have time to help me learn. Therefore, they then gave me one dollar for any 9 mark and 2 dollars for any 10 mark I got at school as a way to encourage to study better. As the result, I concentrated on my study and was on top of the list in my class. Besides, I had money to buy my favorite comics every week which made me so satisfied.

Secondly, giving your sons and daughters some money for excellent academic results and let them decide what to do with it contributes to development of their financial management skill. Children will learn how to spend their money effectively and efficiently which is absolutely useful for their future life. My father is a compelling example. He learnt to manage his weekly amount of money that my grandparents gave him since he was nine years old. Although the amount was not much, he managed to use it for his personal needs. Those skills also played an importance role on his decision to become an economic student and later a successful financial consultant.

In conclusion, I understand why some fathers and mothers disprove to use money as a reward for their kids´ achievement, but my vote is put on this suggestion because its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.