TPO31 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people attribute their unhappiness to the rapid change of modern world. In my opinion, I absolutely disagree with this idea and give my vote to the argument that humans are more satisfied with their lives. There are three reasons supporting my view which will be explored in the following essay.

First and foremost, people now have in hand various types of entertainment with the boom of fast changing technology. Low-cost, transcontinental flights help families be able to travel to farther exotic places instead of spending their holidays in domestic spots. Besides, we can search for an extensive range of information on the internet before making the decisions which means that they can avoid unexpected occurrences. Consequently, consumers feel more happy and satisfied. My cousin´s experience exemplifies this idea. He is a frequent traveler and usually looks for details on his preferred destinations through a plenty of travelling websites on the internet. As such, he can find cheap but beautiful hotels or nice restaurants at the destinations. Hence, my cousin is able to enjoy wonderful and memorable voyages.

Secondly, humans get supports with moderate expenses on doing their daily tasks. Therefore, it is less time consuming to finish their basic needs such as cleaning or cooking and people have more free time to spend with their family and friends. My own experience is a compelling example. I spent a few hundred dollars for the washing machine, dish washer and cleaning robot. They have helped me save hours on washing the dishes, clothes and cleaning my house. I can also order various types of delicious food from online food services. As a result, I have some more hours in my busy days to meet my friends and family. This example shows how fast changing world has facilitated our lives.

Last but not least, achievements on medical treatments have not only cured many dangerous diseases which used to be deadly a few decades ago but also tremendously increased public welfare. Therefore, healthy dwellers feel more delighted than ever before.

In conclusion, I understand that the quickly changing world brings us a few drawbacks such as environmental pollution or social conflicts, but my view is that their advantages outweigh their disadvantages due to the abovementioned reasons and examples.