TPO31 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the advancement of technology, today we are living in a world which is changing with tremendous speed. Many people might get better opportunities and think of this process as a boon, I personally think, most of the people are not as much satisfied with their lives now a days. Therefore, for three compelling reasons, I strongly agree with the statement above.

To begin with, current trends like being addicted to social media, gives people a false level of satisfaction in many ways. And in many cases, it might lead to depression at the end. If we bring ourselves ten years back, people did not keep themselves busy in social media, following every move of strangers and envy their achievement or happiness. But, with the gradual increase of involvement in social media, people now a days compare themselves with others, without knowing full story of that stranger. For instance, one of my friend, who is deeply engaged in recent trends, continually argue with the achievement of his friends that are posted in Facebook. Sometimes he complains about salary in current position, although it is enough for him to support his family and provide basic needs. But comparing himself with strangers he becomes depressed and always dissatisfied with his current position.

Secondly, people are now becoming more and more self centred. They have less time to gather and talk to one another. Everyone is busy competing with one another. World becomes very competitive and from childhood, kids are now hate others achievement or popularity. And people are now living in small houses, without any interaction with neighbours. In modern cities, it is very unlikely to know nearby people. People only go out for office work and get back to home. And after some time, they are getting tired of their lives and find that they are alone in this world.

Finally, another major change in today’s world is drastic change in environment. To construct larger and faster city, trees are cut down and modern technology takes over natural resources. To accommodate huge number of people, empty spaces are filled up, leaving no playground for kids, no green field to walk around and enjoy nature. Air, water and noise pollution contribute to make this world a pernicious place for living. Consequently, all of these changes effects mental happiness of people as well as causing harm to health. Therefore, people become dissatisfied with the environment, with the food they take and with they place they are living now.

To sum up, technology might make the world fast, but it causes dissatisfaction in the people.