TPO 29 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People show different attitudes towards on whether the education quality is improved if universities increase salaries for lecturers. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this argument. I give my vote to other three reasons which will be explored in the following essay.

First and foremost, academic quality will be increased when admission criteria are consolidated as it will guarantee learning capability of students. With higher enrolment standards, universities are able to select students with sufficient intelligence. As the result, those students can absorb knowledge better at school. My own experience is a compelling example. When I was a freshman student 10 years ago, the minimum required GPA of my university was only 3.0. Therefore, many students with low academic capabilities were admitted and they failed many class or could not finish the degree. When my university increased the minimum admitted grade to 3.5 a few years later, the quality of students was better off and consequently the education quality.

Secondly, universities should dig deep into their pockets to improve teaching facilities such as libraries, laboratories, computer labs so that students gain knowledge and understanding more easily. Modern tools and equipment facilitate the learning process of students especially in complicated subjects like computer science, chemical engineering. For example, my brother´s collegue has spent millions of dollars in the last five years to install state-of-the-art computer labs and the quality of graduating students has been extensively ascended.

Last but not least, universities should spend more money on financial aids or scholarships for their students. Those kinds of support urge students to focus their time and energy on learning which ,in turn, boosts the education quality. My cousin experience exemplifies this idea. His university provides valuable scholarships for twenty best students of each faculty every semester. Therefore, my cousin and his classmates dedicate their time on studying so that they can be on the list. As a result, all students gain a lot of understanding and knowledge on the subjects during these competitions. This example shows how financial support can boost the education quality in universities.

In conclusion, my view is that universities should not consider pay claim an effective way to increase quality of education. In contrast, improving teaching facilities, providing more scholarships and financial aids to students and applying higher admission standards are more efficient solutions.