TPO-20 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that everyone desires to be successful. However, most people stay in their comfortable and familiar zones, reluctant to try new opportunities that may lead them to a high level of fulfillment. In contrary, excellent people try new things and take risks rather than only stay in their comfort zone.

Firstly, innovations come from trying different stuff, which is a significant factor for success. As we all know those most excellent companies in the internet industry, none of them came to success their without innovations. Google invented the Page Rank algorithm for its search engine; Facebook redefines social network; Apple refines its operating system every years. Another more concrete example is that Airbnb is now a successful IT company but also a great competitor in the hotel industry. Airbnb came out with a new idea for people to share accommodation more conveniently and economically. Airbnb did take many risks at the beginning, and it almost bankrupt, but eventually, after people accepted the theory of shared economy, Airbnb expanded all over the world.

Secondly, try new things is the only way to develop a personal style which is essential for the success in music and art areas. Musicians and artists may start their careers by imitating others' works. However, the remarkable success never comes from this only copy-paste strategy. Musicians and artists need to have a distinct style to let people remember them. For example, one of the greatest rock band, the Beatles, it is a pioneer in the rock and roll music. The members broke the limit of traditional rock and roll instruments by adopting many exotic instruments. They even use a sizeable orchestra band for some of their songs, which was very rare and crazy at that time. However, this own style which went beyond the stereotype of rock and roll music gave people a feeling of fresh and that lead to their legendary in the future.

Thirdly, sometimes taking risks is an unavoidable requirement for success, and it can be controlled to some extent. No one is perfect in the world. Even doing a small and simple thing, there still a risk that it will be failed. Although we can escape from risks, we can control them in a reasonable limit. Elon Mars, who is a CEO for several innovative companies including Tesla, SpaceX, is a master of trying out a creative idea and controlling risks. In SpaceX, he was trying to make the first recycle rocket in the world, and he had made the launch day public. However, the company encountered some problems in the development. After a serial of analyses, he decided to postpone the launch to reduce the risks. At first, people are ironical for the delay and thought that he might never succeed, but the company tackle the problems and finally launch the rocket successfully, and the whole world was boiling over.

In conclusion, staying in the comfort zone is the greatest enemy of success. We should try our best to take new opportunities and control the risk on our way to success.