Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is irrefutable that teachers play crucial role during people's growth and the occupation of teaching knowledge has always been respected all over the society. But controversy emerges that whether teachers were more appreciated and respected during the past years than current days. Some people claim that teaching jobs have always been gaining people's respect and it is actually necessary and indispensable in our society. While this statement has been torn to pieces by others, who hold the point that teachers indeed have important status but it isn't as important as previous. As far as I am concerned, due to two main reasons, the social status of teachers are declining.

On top of that, people with knowledge are not as rare as previous. With the development of education and govement's emphasis on the area of education, more and more people have access to advanced education, not to say people with high school background. It was the scarcity of knowledgible people that caused the high social status of teachers in the past, which is not the same in modern society. I'll take my parents story as an example. During their days, there was usally only one teacher in a village and parents often gave their children's teacher food, like rice and meat, as a gift to ask the teacher to better look care of their kids. But these days, it is not a phenomenon anymore, because this kind of bribing is fobidden in school.

Besides, news about certain teachers failing to take their responsibility has been common these days. For instance, Some teachers abuse their right as teacher to hit the students, which has left students with shadows in their mind. Some teachers even refuse to teach kids with less talent but only care about those gifted students, because they lack the basic patience. All of those bad news has been reported frequently and leave the whole society nothing but an bad impression of teachers and it also leads to the decline of teachers' status.

In a word, teachers are not respected and valued as they were in the past because they are not still scarce resources anymore and some inqualified teachers' behaviors also contribute to this consequence.