Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is no secret that teachers have always been appreciated, due to both their beneficial impacts on the growth of children and their effect on enhancing the level of awareness in the societies. In this regard, some people believe that despite the importance of teachers for the community, they are not valued by the individuals the same as the past. I personally do agree with this idea, due to a couple of reasons, two of which are decreasing the dependency of students to schools and teachers and consideration to practical skills, which have been elaborated hereunder.

First and foremost, in the past decade, various methods of teaching have been created in which students can learn what they want independent of the teachers. These methods not only can play a role the same as the teacher's roles in the process of education but also can provide the students with a higher level of learning. As an example, we can talk about the Internet. The Internet has a huge number of applications. We all refer to the Internet to find solutions to our questions. Nowadays, there are a lot of educational materials on the Internet, including movies and games that could be used as sources for learning what we need. Hence, the dependency on teachers for learning different courses has diminished in comparison to the past. As a result, the teachers have lost their importance between at least a group of people in each society.

Moreover, in today's world, practical skills have found their way through the societies. All countries in the world, regardless of the level of their development, need people with practical abilities, able to solve complicated problems that the country will face. These skills are not something that could be acquired by taking courses at school and listening to what the teachers say; They mostly could be obtained by experiencing the work or taking part in programs such as internships and not sitting in the classrooms in university or college. For example, no one can become an excellent mechanical engineer by just reading about the laws of thermodynamics. He/she should go and touch a turbine and understand what is happening in it. Therefore, individuals have become aware of the importance of practical skills, and they do not find themselves dependent on teachers and their knowledge like before. It is another reason why teachers are not appreciated the same as the past years.

To sum up, regarding the aforementioned reasons, I vehemently not only agree with the idea that teachers are not welcomed by societies as before but also believe that we are not dependent on them anymore.