Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Universities should spend more money on facilities (such as computer labs and technology in general) rather than on hiring some famous professors.

It is no secret that improving the quality of education in universities plays a significant role in the preparation of students for their future career life. In the past decades, in particular, this problem has found its way in many educational systems in most developed and underdevelopment countries. For this aim, many methods have been proposed by the decision-makers in different societies. A significant problem, in this regard, is about the most appropriate way in which the money could be spent on enhancing the level of education. While a considerable number of universities believe in recruiting well-known professors, many others think it would be better to allocate the available budget for improving equipment and facilities. I personally agree with the second idea, due to a couple of reasons, two of which are the significant role of the internet in education, and the undeniable importance of practical education, which are argued hereunder.

In the past two decades, the internet has been known as a source, which could be considered for solving each of our demands. Nowadays, all courses taught by the most famous professors and from the most top-ranked universities are accessible on the internet for individuals all around the world. Hence, allocating the budget for hiring high-level professors, although exciting, would not be the best idea for spending the money. Indeed, the students could use the internet to find their desired courses, which have been taught by professors not only probably with higher quality than the professors in their university, but also the most famous ones in the world.

Moreover, today’s societies need experts with practical skills rather than well-educated workers. I believe that despite the significance of education, the importance of practical skills should be taken into account by the universities, more than before. In this regard, the students should take part in a majority of laboratory-based courses and spend more time working on practical projects. Obviously, this matter needs the budget to be spent on providing appropriate facilities and suitable educational equipment. As a result, it would be better to allocate the money to these kinds of consumptions.

To sum up, regarding the aforementioned reasons, I vehemently support the idea of spending the available budget on improving the level of facilities in comparison to allocating it to hiring famous professors.