Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

It is no secret that today, the development of each country I directly depended on its people, living in that society. The community needs individuals, able to handle different responsibilities related to all demands of the community. In this context, some people believe that young persons do not play a major role in their communities because they do not allocate enough time for this aim. I personally do not agree with this idea, due to a couple of reasons, two of which are not paying enough attention to their abilities, and not providing them with appropriate facilities, which will be argued hereunder.

First and foremost, in most of the countries, despite numerous talks made by the leaders about the position of the youth in their thoughts, they do not consider them in any of the significant problems of the society. Indeed, they just appreciate the young people and their abilities in their speech and do not give them important roles. Therefore, the youth have not the opportunity of taking part in solving the community’s serious issues. Hence, many people think that young individuals do not give enough time as others do for the improvement of their society.

Secondly, in few communities that give the youth the chance of taking important responsibilities regarding the needs of the society, the leaders do not welcome their requests for giving them enough facilities or equipment to do what they want. Take a personal experience as an example. Two years ago, a friend of mine and I decided to start a project for repairing the old equipment of the thermodynamics lab in the department of mechanical engineering in our university. We asked the administrator of the department to give us some money for this aim. Although it was a volunteer work, and we did not want any money for ourselves, they did not give us the required money, and the project canceled. Three months after the cancellation, the coordinator of the lab in one of the classes had claimed that if students were worried about their education, at least one of them should have offered to help in the maintenance of the facilities in the lab. It is just a simple example of what happens most times to the youth in many societies.

To sum up, regarding the aforementioned reasons, I vehemently not only contradict this idea that young people do not spend adequate time for their communities but also categorically believe that, in some cases, they dedicate themselves to their societies’ problems.