"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

According to the article, due to some reasons, the city commissioners argue that the symphony can be fully self-supporting and they recommend that the funding for the symphony should be eliminated from the budget. However, we need to ask a few questions about the private contributions, the attendance as well as the ticket prices in order to evaluate the argument and the recommendation.

To begin with, the article indicates that, aside from the funding from the government, the private contributions have increased 200 percent last year; but we need to ask that total amount of fundings from private individuals or corporations relative to the over all financial support received including the government funding. It is important to note that the private funding until last year could be so little that it can not make a difference to the running of the symphony. For example, it is possible that the funding from private sources is only 3 thousand compared with 1 million from the government. If that is the case, the funding from private sectors is still not very much, leading to a shortage of funding if the government cuts the budget.

Similarly, the increase of attendance at the symphony's concert-in-the-park also deserves further investigation. Even if the attendance doubled, we still need to ask about the exact number of people who attend the symphony. Maybe only a few people attended before last year, the number of the audience still not huge. In addition, we also need to see how important are the park series relative to other event of the symphony. Questions about whether these people will contribute to the income, at the same time, also need to be answered so as to find out the income these increased people can bring. If , for example, tickets are not required when attending the series, or if the cost of such series is so high that the increased ticket revenue can not make up for the loss, the symphony will not be self-supporting if it can not receive funding from the government.

Finally, we still need to answer the question about how sensitive the audiences are to the price change. According to economic theories, consumers are less willing to buy products if the price grows. Given that the symphony announces that ticket prices will be increased, it is possible that some people will not choose to come. With fewer people attend the symphony, the total income might decrease even if the price increase. Therefore, we need more information, such as asking some visitors whether they continue to come with higher tickets price, to evaluate the outcome of eliminating the government budget. If there will be few people attend, the income of the symphony will dramatically incline, making it impossible to support itself.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the city commission tends to save the cities budget. But some questions mentioned above are supposed to be answered in order to find out whether the recommendation is reasonable.