Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People in the past are more interested in improving their neighbourhood (the area where they live) than now.

Neighborhood, the area people live in, has been valued and triggers a heated discussion on whether people are willing to better it nowadays. Modern people, in some's view, desire to devote themselves to improving the area in the vicinity, compared with decades ago. Contrary to their opinion is my perspective that several issues prevent contemporary people from participating in community activities including the lack of time and capability.

It should be prioritized that contemporary people, including students and adults, distribute less time to the neighborhood, compared with those in the past. First, never should we ignore that students nowadays live a hectic school life. To explain it further, they not only spend 10 hours per weekday attending classes and doing homework, but also attend extracurricular activities on weekends. The shortage of spare time discourages teenagers from community service. In comparison, there are less pressure in the past so students didn't need to study as hard as they do today. Therefore, little time can be allocated to the environment of the neighborhood compared with decades ago. Similarly, modern adults, who are struggling for a promising and rewarding career, are also overwhelmed by burdensome work. After they are overloaded in the workplace, they will definitely find it laborious to improve their vicinity. With little time allocated to the neighborhood, present adults are less likely to publicize the importance of improving the local environment and take part in specific community activities. In the past, however, adults were eager to enhance their neighborhood decades ago.

What should be equally emphasized is that modern people, rather than dwellers in the past, lack knowledge and money to better the region they reside in. First, in the past, most people own the expertise that is suitable to change the local environment, such as planting trees and reducing pollutants in the community. These kinds of practical knowledge are neglected by modern education. Due to the development of the technology, people are supposed to learn professional knowledge and become experts in a specific area. Even if they are given tools and equipment, contemporary people are less likely to plant a tree on their own. In the past, people were involved more in farming and most of them mastered skills to improve the environment. Besides, even with enough knowledge, modern people are less interested in improving the local environment owing to the financial cost. The price of tools or materials, which is used to improve the environment, can not be afforded by the inhabitants. The absence of the government's investment in the community undermines their interest in their region. On the contrary, the money distributed to infrastructure was sufficient several years ago, which encourages people to be engaged in enhancing the local area.

In conclusion, people in the past were more interested in improving the local environment because they have more leisure time and they were more capable to do such things compared with contemporary people.