Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People in the past are more interested in improving their neighbourhood (the area where they live) than now.

Neighborhood, the area people live in, has triggered a heated discussion on whether people were more interested in improving the enviroment of neighborhood compared with decades ago. Modern people, in some peoples view, devote themselves to improving the neighborhood more than before. Contrary to these people's view is my perspective that people are less interested in improving the local environment today because the lack of time and knowledge.

To begin with, contemporary people, including students and adults, can distribute less time to improving the local area. First, students nowadays live a hectic school life. They have to spend about 10 hours per weekday attending classes, doing homeworks or preparing for the exams. On weekends they may attend some extra-classes so that they will compete with others in the college entrance exams. In comparison, there are less competition in the past so students didn't need to study as hard as they do today. Therefore, little time can be allocated to the environment of neighborhood compared with decades ago. Similarly, This kind of competition also appear among adults. The employment opportunities are limited so adults have to work very hard in order to get a promising and rewarding jod, or get promotion. To work hard, employees are supposed to spend more time on work and even work overtime. With little time allocated to improving the neighborhood, present people are less likely to improve the local environment.

What should be euqally emthasized is that modern people lack knowledge and money to better the environment of local area. In the past, most people own the expertise to change the local enviornment, such as planting trees and flowers. These kinds of knowledge are neglected by modern education because eople are required to learn more professional knowledge and become expert in a specific area. Contemporary people, even provided with suitable tools and equipment, are less likely to plant a tree without assistance. In the past, people involve more in farming and most of them master skills to improve the environment. What's more, even with enough knowledge, modern people are less interested in improving the local environment owing to the financial cost. The price of tools or materials, used to improve the enviornment, has considerably raised than before. As a result, it is not easy for a individual to improve the local area on his own.

In conclusion, people in the past were more interested in improving the local environment because they have more leisure time and they were more capable to do such things compared with contemporary people.