Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People in the past are more interested in improving their neighbourhood (the area where they live) than now.

Neighborhood, the area people live in, has been valued and triggers a heated discussion on whether people are willing to better it nowadays. Modern people, in some's view, desire to improve the area in the vicinity, compared with decades ago. Contrary to their opinion is my perspective that several issues prevent contemporary people from participating in community activities including the lack of time and capability.

It should be prioritized that contemporary people, including students and adults, distribute less time to the neighborhood, compared with those in the past. First, never should we ignore that students nowadays live a hectic school life. To explain it further, they not only spend 10 hours per weekday attending classes and doing homework, but also attend extracurricular activities on weekends. The shortage of spare time discourages teenagers from community service. In comparison, there are less pressure in the past so students didn't need to study as hard as they do today. Similarly, modern adults, who are struggling for a promising and rewarding career, are also overwhelmed by burdensome work. After they are overloaded in the workplace, they will definitely find it laborious to improve their vicinity. With little time allocated to the neighborhood, present adults are less likely to publicize the importance of improving the local environment and take part in specific community activities. In the past, however, adults had little work to do, especially in rural areas. This relaxing atmosphere provided them with the opportunity to spend more time enhancing their neighborhood decades ago.

What should be equally emphasized is that modern people, rather than dwellers in the past, lack knowledge and money to better the region they reside in. First, most people, who lived in the countryside in the past, were involved more in farming and most of them own the expertise and skills that are suitable to change the local environment, such as planting trees and reducing pollutants. Unfortunately, these kinds of pragmatic knowledge are neglected by modern education. Due to the development of technology, more and more people moved to downtown. Most inhabitants have less access to practical skills because they are supposed to learn professional knowledge and become experts in a specific area. Even if with appropriate types of equipment, contemporary people are not able to plant trees individually. Besides, even with enough knowledge, modern people are less interested in improving the local environment owing to the financial cost. The price of tools or materials, which are used to improve the environment, can not be afforded by the inhabitants. The absence of the government's investment in the community undermines their interest in their region. On the contrary, the money distributed to infrastructure was sufficient several years ago. As a result, local residents just need to dedicate themselves to the neighbor and didn't have financial pressure. The government support in the past, with no doubt, encouraged people to devote themselves to enhancing the local area.

In conclusion, the absence of time decreases modern people's willingness in improving their regions. The lack of capability also serves as an obstacle that lowers their passion to participate in community service. Only with those mentioned above can we draw the conclusion that modern people are less interested in the construction of their living environment.