Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I agree that the world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past. However, by learning the past, we could still prevent similar mistakes and replicate previous success in decision making nowadays.

It is true that the world today is more complex than before. For example, when choosing a major when entering university, students will face a challenge because of a plethora of information and more diversified majors. To begin with, with the advent of internet, students are provided with plenty of information; as a result, when they are considering what major to choose, they could search on the internet, but after they glean all the information, they will find it difficult to extract the information that are useful for them. Besides, since many field have been developed rapidly, there are many new majors each year and the boundaries between different field is less and less clear. As a result, with the development of technology, the world is definitely become more complex.

However, even if the world is changing quickly and become more complex, we can still prevent making mistakes when knowing about the past. Take the example of choosing major again. When making decisions, we may be informed about the cases who choosing a major according to whether it is lucrative insteat of whether he is interested in such field. We will, as a result, understand that even if in such a field most people could locate rewarding and promising career, without interests and passion, we will not be dedicated to learning and thus less likely to achieve supreme academic performance and hunt for a good occupation. Therefore, Kowning about the bad outcome of the examples in the past can exclude us from making wrong decisions.

In addition to preventing us from wrong choices, knowing about the past also help people repeat the right decision. When choosing a major, we are able to know what we are interested in and what we are good at according to the academic performance in the past. If we could know the history of students in the universities who have similar performance, we will be able to predict what major is better for us.

In conclusion, although the world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past, learning the past could still distract us from committing similar mistakes and replicate previous success.