The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

According to the vice president of a manufacturing company, claims that Panoply's superior safety record can be attributed to shorter work shifts. This argument may seem plausible in first glance. There are, however, a number of alternative explanations regarding the number of accidents at Panoply industires, the working conditions in different factories as well as the effect of shorter work shifts.

To begin with, there are some rival explanations which could account for the fact that accidents in newly opened factory are more than that at Panoply. In accordance with the vice president, workers at their new factory reported 30 percent more accidents. However, it is probable that the number of workers in the new factory are far more than the factory in Panoply. For example, if the number of workers here is as twice as the number in Panoply, the percentage of accidents with regard to total number of workers is relatively less than Panoply. Besides, it is equally possible that the report in Panoply is invalid. Maybe some small accidents in Panoply is not reported or recorded, while in the new factory, the manager pay attention to every accident, even a small one. If any of the aforementioned condition is the case, the argument would be untenable.

In addition, the fact regarding the accidents number may also be attributed to some alternative explanations. It is likely that the working condition in Panoply is better than this new factory. For instance, the quality of the equipment in Panoply is better, or perhaps the factory in Panoply attach more significance to educating safety rules. If this is the case, the accidents will be reduced even if its work shifts are the same. Likewise, it is equally possible that the workers in Panoply is more proficient. With more skills and experiences, they will be less likely to get injured. Therefore, it is of paramount importance for us to investigate the working condition as well as the workers in two factories, so as to justify the argument.

Finally, we also need to examine whether the longer work shifts would contribute to fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. The author implys that after reduce work shift, workers will not be fatigue. However, it is possible that workers in the new factory always go to party until late at night. Under such circumstances, they will also feel asleep in the workplace. Likewise, maybe they suffer from huge stress so that they can not sleep well every day. Therefore, we need to know whether short works shifts indeed lead to sleep deprivation before we can accept the argument.

In conclusion, we need more information mentioned above to rule out the alternative explanations to further evaluate the argument.