Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Transportation, the foundation of each individual's life, triggers heated discussions over whether the number of cars will increase in twenty years. The number of cars on the roads, in some people's view, will continuously boost. On the contrary, my perspective is that there will be fewer cars in use than today for the following reasons.

To begin with, people's awareness of environmental protection will contribute to the less frequent use of private cars in the future. First, as the problem regarding the environment becomes alerting recently, citizens start to realize the importance of environmental preservation. With the publicizing of different environmental issues, citizens nowadays gradually know that assorted contamination, such as air pollution, will cause detrimental effects on the earth. As a result, they may tend to try their best to lower the damage to the environment. Since cars emit exhaust fumes which will do harm to both people's health and air atmosphere, people will try to take public transportations instead of driving private cars. Therefore, the number of cars on the road will decline. Simultaneously, the government will also attach significance to air pollution because it is the governors' obligation to prevent the deterioration of the environment. In detail, the authority may enact some regulations or laws to motivate residents to take buses or subway, such as exerting taxes when buying cars or providing discounts when taking buses. Consequently, there will be definitely fewer cars on the road in the future.

In addition to people's awareness of environmental issues, never should we ignore that it is not necessary for most people to buy cars with the development of technology. First, with the advent of the internet, one can accomplish a lot of tasks at home conveniently. For instance, after selecting items they want on the online store, people just need to pay the money online and wait for the package at home. Therefore, dwellers will find out that it is effortless to live in a city without private cars. Besides, even if people still need to go somewhere by car, they can also choose an alternative way. With the development of self-driving cars, there will be more and more intelligent taxis on the road. For example, Google has been researching for years to let cars drive autonomously and achieved astonishing success. Therefore, I believe that in the future, people are able to call a robot taxi at any time they want, even if at midnight. So private cars will not be indispensable in the future, and fewer vehicles are required in twenty years.

In conclusion, there will be fewer automobiles in the future compared with today due to people's awareness of protecting the earth and the development of technology.