The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the author of the memo, the company should not use Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. The argument may seem plausible at first glance. However, in order to evaluate the soundness of the argument, we need more information regarding the reason why employees receiving help from Delany get jobs more quickly, the reason why people working with Walsh is hard to find a job eight years ago, and the effect of staff size and branch network on the quality of the service.

To begin with, more direct evidence with regard to the reason why people who used Delany find jobs quickly is required, so as to verify the argument. In accordance with the author, this could be attributed to the effectiveness of Delany 's service. But it is possible that those who used Delany are more competent than those who don't. For example, maybe they have better communication skills or excellent professional knowledge. If this is the case, they can get a rewarding and promising job more quickly than others, even if they did not receive Delany 's services. Consequently, without more information about the laid-off employees to justify that Delany's services really make a difference, the argument is untenable.

In addition, we also need to know more about the reason why those working with Walsh can not get a job easily eight years ago. The fact that only half of the workers found jobs within a year eight years ago doesn't necessarily imply that Walsh is less likely to help people find a job now. Maybe in the past, the local economy was doing poorly, and thus it is difficult for everyone to locate a position. Or perhaps, Walsh's clients at that time were from the industries where jobs are difficult to find. If any of the aforementioned conditions is the case, it is unsafe to conclude that Walsh's services are not as effective as Delany. Obviously, we need more evidence to rule out these possibilities before we could accept the argument.

Finally, another crucial piece of evidence we need is about the effect of staff and branch numbers on the quality of the services. The author implies that bigger staff and a larger number of branch offices could contribute to better services. But it is likely that the efficiency of these employees is comparatively low. If so, Delany may not superior to Walsh. We also need to know whether staff in Delany could get more information with the help of other colleagues or branch offices. If they can't, they are less likely to provide a better service. Hence, we should collect more evidence apropos of the working condition in Delany in order to assess the argument.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the author would like to provide their laid-off employees with better care. But we can not conclude that Delany's services are better than Walsh's with limited information. Only when the author could provide more evidence mentioned above can the argument be confirmed valid.