Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, it was easier to identify what type of career job would lead to a secure, successful future. (TPO39-Task2)

Occupation, the foundation of quality life, has been valued and even triggers heated discussion over whether it was easier to identify what kinds of jobs would lead to a secure and successful future. Predicting that, in some people's view, is effortless in modern times. On the contrary, my perspective is that it is more arduous to identify the future of an occupation than before.

To begin with, never should we ignore that the rapidly changing world makes predicting the future impossible. With the development of technology, there are always the birth of new jobs and the disappearance of previously prominent occupation. Therefore, we can not tell whether a promising career today will have no prospects or even disappear in the future. The advent of robots and AI, for example, has replaced humans in assorted fields such as accounting, security, and public transportation. Being an accountant might be a rewarding and promising career in the past. However, as machine learning technology learn this task, this profession will no longer require most people. Besides, international relation is changing faster than before, causing it onerous to predict the future of a career. For instance, china's high-tech industry such as mobile phones or robots seems like a promising field. However, due to the conflict with the USA, China can not import some vital electronic chips, preventing the development of these fields and thus many workers lose their jobs. In contrast, before globalization, careers were less vulnerable to international relations. Therefore, predicting the future of occupation, with no doubt, is arduous compared with decades ago.

In addition, it is also well acknowledged that the fierce competition in contemporary times leads to the failure of predicting the future of a career. Predicting whether an occupation is secure tremendously depends on an employee’s personal characteristics. Even if people choose a seemingly secure job, without competence or diligence, losing a job is still possible. Specifically, people nowadays have to work hard in order to keep their job. For example, they need to improve their work efficiency and reduce the time of getting distracted during the work hour, so they will make more contributions to the company. Only in this way can they secure their job and get promoted. Otherwise, they may suffer from unemployment if other people work more diligently. This phenomenon is not common in the past since there was less competition and people are only required to accomplish the task they have assigned to. As a result, it is effortless to determine whether a career is secure and promising.

In conclusion, the higher speed of the world change and the increasingly fierce competition in modern society contribute to the consequence that predicting the future of a career is difficult than before.