In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

According to the argument, the city government should devote more money to riverside recreational facilities. Although this argument may seem plausible at first glance, a number of assumptions was made regarding the survey, the complaints from residents and the effect of plan to clean the river. We need to examine these assumptions so as to evaluate the argument critically.

To begin with, the author of the argument assumes that the result of the survey concerning the rand of recreational activities could represent most of the residents. But this might not be true since we do not have enough information about the respondents in the survey. It is probable that the survey only sample five people, which is far less than the total population in the city. Under such circumstances, the survey sould not represent most of the dwellers. Similarly, if the respondents are not randomly sampled, the result of the survey could not provide valuable information. For example, if the survey is conducted in a area along the river where residents are more likely to prefer water sports, the conclusion that most residents in the cities prefer water sports would be untenable.

In addition, it is also assumed that the complaints about the quality of the river's water and smell could necessarily imply that most people concern about this issue. However, maybe there are few people complained about the river. If so, the smell of the river may be so taint that most people along the river could not sense. Or perhaps, although most of the inhabitants don't like the smell of the river, they do not hope the government to allocate budget to clean the river since they would like the government to promote the transportations or educations. If any of the aforementioned conditions is the case, the conclusion that the governmetn should devote more money to clean the river is not reasonable

Finally, even if the assumptions mentioned above is true, the assumption concerning the effect of the cleaning plan could not hold water. It is assumed that the smell of river is due to the factors that the government could handle. However, it is likely that the smell could be attributed to the natural sources like some material in the river which could be dated back to the time the river formed. Likewise, it is equally possible that the cost of cleaning the river could be coverd by the government budget even if the there are possible solutions. If the cost so high that it far beyond the budget, the cleaning plan would not make the river clean. Therefore, we need more information to examine this assumption before we can justify the argument.