If you want to recommend a way to reduce living expenses for your friend, which of the following will you choose? Why?

1. Find a roommate to share a room

2. Do not buy the latest mobile phone, buy new technological devices less frequently

3. Buy cheap foods and cook home (do not often eat outside)

Living expenses, a significant element in one’s personal life, have been valued and even triggered heated discussions over how to reduce them. In order to decrease daily spending, a person, in some people’s views, can find a roommate to share rental or purchase fewer technology products. Contrary to these people’s views is my perspective that a person should buy less expensive food and choose to cook at home.

What must be prioritized is that by making purchase of cheap food, rather than buying new technological devices less often, people can reduce their living expenses, through cultivating the habit of thrift and getting discounts. Initially, it is the purchase of less expensive ingredients that enhances the awareness of saving money in consumption. To be more specific, when getting accustomed to buying cheap food, people are likely to be cautious about their spending and endeavor to reduce expenses in every aspect of life, such as clothing, transportation and entertainment; on the other hand, the habit of saving in life cannot be fostered when they only decrease the frequency of buying technologyndevices. Moreover, with cheap products bought, people will enjoy more discounts. Specifically, never can we ignore that cheap food, almost expired and preferred by fewer people, will be in discount, making it possible for them to keep their budget tight; however, maintaining the original prices, due to the popularity among numerous customers, devices can be unaffordable and cannot lower their expenses.

What should be equally worth discussing is that cooking at home instead of finding a roommate to share rental, people can reduce expenses effectively, including those in service and diseases. To begin with, only by having meals at home can people eliminate spending on service. Specifically, when cooking and eating at home, not only can people save tips to waiters, but also they can avoid the payment for chefs, which can effectively decrease expenses; in contrast, the expenses on service, in the form of others' assistance, cannot be overlooked when a person lives with a roommate. Moreover, the more frequently people have meals at home, the less likely they will get sick, reducing medical expenses. To explain it further, it is healthy for people to cook at home, where they can choose a balanced diet, clean ingredients thoroughly and add less oil, contributing to a wholesome lifestyle and thus decreasing life expenses; however, they will imitate the unhealthy eating habits of people around, get susceptible to sickness and spend much on health care if living with roommates.

In conclusion, living expenses, a significant element in people's life, can be effectively cut down if we shop for less expensive food and cook at home, due to the positive impact on thrift and healthy habit.