Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Whether people can learn from those whose views contradict our own has triggered heated discussion. In may opinion, I think when in a scientific and political debate, we will learn from those who oppose us; however, in a discussion regarding people's reliefs, disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

When discussing scientific problems, people will usually learn from others with contradict views. For example, when people have finish scientific research, they will publish papers and report their methods and the result of the experiment, so as to demonstrate their method or opinion are novel. Before they can publish their paper, they have to answer plenty questions from reviewers who might hold a different view. During this process, the reviewer may point out some flaws in the paper. The writer, on the other hand, will reconsider his research and improve the method or collect more data to strengthen the soundness of the experiment. Undoubtedly, the researcher who write the paper will learn from the reviewer who try to oppose his argument by locating flaws, and the deficiency or error in the paper will be corrected. This debate will obviously not cause stress inhibit learning since scholars are open to doubts; instead, they will learn a lot by exchange opinions by discovering their flaws.

Similarly, in a politic debate, people will also learn from others who are in opposite party. Consider a senitor who propose to raise the minimum wage in order to improve the living standard of the poor. People from different party will disagree his proposal by point out that the policy would exert heavy burden on companies. They may argue that corporations may choose to improve profit by firing some people, leading to umployment of the poor. By debating with people who have different view, the senitor may improve his plan by lowering the tax of the corporation so that the cost of running the corporation will decrease. However, if there is no one debate with him, he will never think about the adverse effect of his policy. Consequently, such a debate will not inhibit learning; instead, it push everyone to think from different prosepctive and evaluate one's opinion thoroughly. In this course, people will definitely learn from others.

However, such conclusion is not true in a debate involving people's belief. For instance. Suppose a skeptic is having a debate with religious people on whether there is a god. Since religious people has believed there is a god from very young, it is hard for him to discord such belief. The debate will have no result but can only cause stress.