The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the letter, moped accidents would decrease if Balmer limit the number of mopeds rented. This argument may seem plausible at first glance. In order to examine this predition critically, however, we need to answer some questions regarding the reason of moped accidents, the reason of accident reduction in Torseau and the source of the moped in Balmer.

To begin with, more questions with regard to the reason of moped accidents in Balmer should be answered to decide whether this argument is justified. Is it the moped mainly caused the accident? It is prabable that most pedestrains in Balmer don't obey basic traffic laws. Under such circumstance, the number of accidents involving pedestrains will be large, even if the number of moped on the road is reduced. Without more information apropos of the reason of the moped accidents, the predition would be untenable.

Further more, we also need to ask that why the number of accidents reduced in Torseau. Could it actually be attributed to the limits on moped? The accident reduction doesn't necessarily imply that rental limitation is effective. Maybe at the same time, Torseau also attach more significance to educate the moped drivers and pedestrians, so as to arise their awareness of safety. Or perhaps, Torseau also enact a speed limit policy. With such regulation, the speed of moped on the road will be slower, contributing to the redution in moped accidents. If any of the aforementioned conditions is the case, we cannot conclude that the accidents would decrease by merely reduce the moped rentals.

Finally, even if such a limitation is effective in Torseau, another crucial question we need to answer is about the source of the moped in Balmer. The author of the letter claims that policy in Torseau will also suit for Balmer. But it is likely that residents in Balmer have their won moped. With little need to rent moped, such a regulation will not help reduce the number of moped in Balmer, and thus not contribute the reduce the accidents. Likewise, it is equally possible that more moped in Balmer are from other cities. If so, the policy would also fail to reduce the accident. We need to, therefore, ask these questions to evaluate the argument.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the author would like to reduce the accident. But it is unsate to conclude such a policy would be effective without answering questions mentioned above.