In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system.

The director of a hospital system suggests that the UltraClean is supposed to be used in all hand-wasking stations in order to prevent patient infections. However, some assumptions about its effectiveness comapred with other hand soups as well as its experiment result has been made in this suggestion.

To begin with, it is assumed that the hand soaps is not suffcient to meet the need of the hospital in reducing the bacteria population. According to the director, the UltraClean produce a 40 precent greater reduction than liquid hand soaps. However, it is possible that, by using such hand soaps, the number of bacterias remained is already satisfying given that patients might not suffer from infection under such circunstance. More information, therefore, regarding the number remained when using soaps is need. If hand soaps already reach the requirement of the hospital, the suggestion would not be valid.

In addition, we also need to examine the assumption about the test in order to evaluate the soundness of the argument. Given the fact that the hospital in Workby reported fewer cases of patient than other hospital group, the director assumed that other condition of these hospital is the same, which might not hold ture. These hospitals may attach importance to different kinds of patients, for example, and some kinds of them might be more susceptible to infection. Besides, it is also possible that the hygine condition of the hospital in Workby is better than any other hospitals. If these cases turn out to be true, the test could not justify that UltraClean is effective; more information, therefore, is required to check the validness of the suggestion.

Finally, even if Ultraclean is effective after these assumptions are proved to be true, it is also important to examine the assumption that supplying UltraClean at hand-washing stations will help prevent patients from being infected. However, this assumption might not hold ture. For example, patients who suffer from infections might suffer from so heavy disease that they are not able to go to the hand-washing stations. If they just stay on their bed all the time, they could not use UltraClean, making it impossible to distract them from infections. Therefore, further investigation about whether these patients who suffer from infections are accessible to hand-washing station would be useful to evaluate the argument.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the director would like to reduce the number of patients infections. But we still need more information to examine the assumption made in the argument in order to decide its soundness.<br>