Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Happiness, the thing most people strive for, has been valued and triggers heated discussions over whether people now are less happy and satisfied with their lives than in the past due to the rapidly changing world. This fast development, in some people's view, makes people feel gratified. On the contrary, my perspective is that people nowadays are less delightful than decades ago.

To begin with, never should we ignore that the rapid development of technology makes contemporary adults feel more exhausted than before. First, successively updating knowledge forces people to learn new things continuously. To be more specific, in order to locate a career, students have to obtain more expertise and simultaneously learn how to apply the knowledge they have just learned to practice. For example, with the advent of the computer, people in many fields are supposed to learn basic computer knowledge in order to manipulate the machine or use professional software to boost their work efficiency. This urges people to allocate more time to studying than before, making people feel tired and less delighted. Besides, the new technology also makes employees feel pressure because one day they may be replaced by machines. For instance, autonomous driving technology has become more and more mature. It is possible that the advanced robot will replace most drivers. In such circumstances, people may suffer from pressure since they are likely to lose their jobs. However, people in the past don't have such feelings because human labor is necessary and indispensable.

In addition, the development of society also increases people's desire for higher life quality. In detail, nowadays people will not feel satisfied if they are just not hungry. Instead, they crave a more colorful and convenient life than before, because they have the opportunity to achieve such lives if they work diligently or even work overtime. For example, not only may adults today work hard to earn money to give themselves a better life such as living in large houses, eating delicious food, going traveling on weekends, but they also tend to try their best to provide their parents with constant medical care and give their parents access to a well-rounded education. Obviously, modern people desire more in materials and mental than those decades ago, which makes them more fatigue and less contented. As a result, current people are more likely to find it laborious to fulfill their requirements compared with those in the past.

In conclusion, people are definitely less happy and satisfied than before due to the fast developing technology as well as the growing desire of modern people.