TPO 37 Do you agree or disagree with the following statements? Because people are busy doing so many different things, they do very few things well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Tasks, the foundation of everyone's life, triggers heated discussion over whether people do few things well as they are busy doing assorted things. Different tasks, in some people's view, can be accomplished in satisfying quality simultaneously. On the contrary, my perspective is that multi-task will lead to less concentration as well as low efficiency, preventing people from finishing most tasks well.

To begin with, never should we ignore that dealing with multiple tasks will definitely lead to the distraction of resources on them. First, the time spent on each task is decreased tremendously. To be more specific, people, undoubtedly, only have 24 hours per day and each task requires a certain time to finish. This constraint forces people to distribute the limited time to excessive tasks, making it impossible to complete all the assignments well. However, if people are required to cope with only one task, they will have enough time to accomplish it well. Even if there are some accidents that make the task more arduous than thought, people can still address the problems calmly with sufficient time. Similarly, people's energy is also limited. Specifically, as people are burdened with numerous things, they will definitely feel exhausted after they have finished some of them with high quality. Therefore, hardly can people have equal passion and energy to deal with subsequent assignments, causing the tasks finished in low quality.

In addition, apart from the limitation of resource people can allocate to the tasks, the low efficiency is also a reason for the failure to finish most things well. First, it is well acknowledged that people's overall productivity will be undermined when handling different things. When performing multi-task processing, people will switch from different tasks from time to time, and thus they have to spend extra time recalling the context of each task. Besides, people may also commit some mistakes due to the switch of tasks. Consequently, they will spend more time discovering the error and rectifying it, resulting in low quality of the tasks. For example, if a student prepares for several exams in a day, he will find it laborious to remember the expertise he learned before switching to different subjects. Even worse, he may make many mistakes during this process. As a result, his study efficiency will be decreased, and may fail to pass all the exams. However, if he focuses on just one subject, he will be more likely to pass that exam.

In conclusion, people can accomplish few tasks well due to the fact that they have assorted jobs to get done at the same time. Only when people focus on one task exclusively can they accomplish each of them with high quality.