While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above the recommendation the author states that teachers should assign homework no more than twice a week. The author’s recommendation is based on the survey report that students in Marlee earned better grades than students in Sanlee despite being assigned homework more than two times a week. However, before evaluating the author’s recommendation three questions must be answered.

Firstly, can circumstances from one school be used to generalize and predict the others? In other words are high schools in Marlee comparable with high schools in Sanlee? Maybe high schools in Marlee have developed education systems than high schools in Marlee. Perhaps students in high schools in Marlee are more sincere and sedulous than students in Sanlee . Then the teachers in Sanlee have to give homework on a daily basis to improve their student’s performance. Maybe students in the Marlee also have other sources of education like private tutors or coaching centers, from where they may get homework on regular basis. On the other hand, high schools are the only source of education for most of the students in Sanlee. Then assigning homework three to five times a week homework may improve their performance. If any of the above scenarios is true, then the author’s recommendation holds no water.

Secondly, is it viable to conclude about something only from the percentage? In other words, is the percentage sufficient to determine which one has more credits? A Percentage is a tricky number, without the absolute value being given, sometimes percentage is confusing information. Let the high schools in Marlee have a total of 100 teachers and the high schools in Sanlee have a total of 1000 teachers. Then 86 percent of the teachers implied 86 teachers were a proponent of the recommendation of assigning homework no more than twice a week. But 25 percent of the teachers in Sanlee means 400 teachers have touted the idea of assigning homework on daily basis. In other words, stating a conclusion only from the percentage is very likely confusing and unwarranted. If the above scenario is true then the author’s unstated recommendation is built unreliably.

Thirdly, is some student’s bad performance depend on only one factor? Maybe students in Sanlee were provided with better education policy. Perhaps teachers in the high schools in Marlee are more better teaches than high schools in Sanlee. Maybe teachers in Marlee focused more on getting grades rather than gaining knowledge. Perhaps most of the high schools in Sanlee are in rural area and and most of the student’s financial condition is not good so they have to do some jobs to support their family. If anyone of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted.

In the conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that assigning home work no more than twice a week will improve students performance.