Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

In the above argument, Dr. Field has concluded from his observation that the children of the Tertia were reared by the entire village whereas Dr. karp has just opposed the conclusion by stating that his observations were invalid. Both of the observation have different methodologies and the different time.

Firstly, to begin with, as mentioned in the argument, Dr.Field has done the observation in the Tertia island twenty years ago and at that time, children might have been reared by the entire community. And his observation at that time might have been correct based on the people`s responses and his research. And Dr. Karp has done the observation twenty years after Dr. Field has done and during these time interval , there might have been change in the cultural practices. Previously, there might be dearth of entertainment and people might have been dependent on eachother for the entertainment and twenty years later, there might have been advancement in the source of entertainment and people can independently have the source of entertainment by themselves. So, in this way, the observation might have altered.

Secondly, Dr. Karp has done observation on group of island including Tertia island and the conclusion of his observation is based only on this island. Was his intentions only to defy Dr. Field? No signs of observation of other island is mentioned in the argument. So, he should have mentioned observation of the other island to undergrid his conclusion.

Lastly, lets talk about the methodology used by the Dr.Karp to reach to such conclusion. Was his method more accurate then previous anthropologist? Was his a valiant interviewer ? Does his interview covered every aspects of the research ? All these questions are unanswered in the given argument. And just based on some vacuous observation, the conclusion has been derived.

In sum, there must be some logical way of reaching to the conclusion. Without careful scrutiny, the observation seem like half uncooked food and this creates painstaking situation in digestion. So, with all those unanswered questions and ill-terminology used, we can`t just agree with the conclusion.