The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The best way someone learns is from their mistakes. The given prompt states that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. I mostly disagree with the prompt for two reasons.

One could argue that, mistakes are what teaches us how to live. so, the negative actions in our life plays an important role for our development. Sometimes, negative actions are what forces to improve ourselves. For example, a student who is praised only for his positive actions might learn the way to work in a way to get praised from the teachers. The student might be learning how to do things right but it is also important for them to learn how not to do things wrong. Instead of ignoring the negative actions of the students, the teachers should aware the students about their mistakes and wrong deeds and suggest them how to correct their mistakes.

Similarly, ignoring the negative actions of students and only praising the positive ones, can lead to a wrong mentality for the student in which they may believe that they could never do wrong; that they could never make any mistakes. This mentality can develop a egoistic nature in students in which they may have a feeling of superiority to other students. For example, if a teacher praises a student for every positive action but ignore all the negative ones, the student might feel that whatever he does, he might not be punished. This will imprint a wrong perception in his mind.

But, the students should also be praised for their positive actions. Human beings inherently act in way to maximize gratification and being praised from their seniors will encourage them to work harder for improving themselves. This will help them in their personal development. So, the teachers should praise the positive actions of students and suggest them in correcting their mistakes and guide them.

The prompt describes the statement as if the correct choice to take in praising the positive actions but from the analysis it is clear that it is not the only correct way and in fact negative actions plays an important part for development of students and should not be ignored. The teacher should approach the situation in a way that the students become aware of their actions and understand how to handle them.