The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The excerpt from the business magazine, as shown in the prompt, suggests that the success of a firm depends on the performance of their executives, which is associated with the amount of sleep the executive gets. The prompt recommends hiring business people who require less than six hours of sleep per night. The argument is based on fallacious assumptions. Before this recommendation can be accepted, three questions must be answered.

To begin with, can the apparent association seen between the sleep length and the performance of the executive be accepted? Does the correlation between the amount of sleep they get ensue the firm's success? As every person is different, the amount of sleep required by a person is subjective and is contingent on a number of factors. The executives in the sample might have been those who function better with minimal amounts of sleep. There could have been executives who work better with more hours of sleep. In fact, Scientists have shown that people who sleep for at least eight hours have great mental health; they even displayed improvement in memory and cognitive abilities. So, the association between the sleep length and work performance cannot be ascertained as the sole factor for the firm’s success.

Moreover, Is the performance of the executive the single major factor for the success of an organization? A firm includes hundreds of people working together towards the success of the firm. So, isn’t it possible that there are a myriad of factors besides the performance of the executives, that determines the firm’s success. For example, the executives of the successful firms could have had better skills than the other firms which helped them gain a better edge. Similarly, it is also possible that the firms with success had more qualified employees who performed better than other firms leading to such success. Hence, the success of the firm has multiple factors affecting it.

Furthermore, the argument states a study group of 300 male and female advertising executives was taken for the research but we cannot be sure that this sample is representative of all the executives. The writer of the article doesn’t state how the sampling was done. With such a small sample size, a solid deduction cannot be simply accepted; we need to make sure of possible errors in research due to the small sample size. For example, it is highly likely that the sample consisted of greater number of executives performing well under less sleep, while the real situation might be different and this sample might be just a biased percentage of the executive population. Thus, such a sample obviates us from accepting the argument as it stands now.

The article, showing some good aspects, certainly, is lacking in elucidation of various assumptions. The argument as it stands now is faulty and does not hold water. With proper research by the author (possibly as a detailed report focusing on the fallacious assumptions), the argument might be acceptable. But, as it stands now we the argument is hardly conclusive.