Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leadership is one of the most important skill for a person. If a person has better leadership skill then, he or she can help share their thoughts more easily or even lead people with the same thoughts. The prompt suggests that cooperation is more important than competition for leadership. I mostly agree with this statement for the following three reasons.

To begin with, cooperation among the people, especially the leader and the followers, can help in developing a feeling of unity among them. Cooperation can instigate a feeling of brotherhood among the young people, which might make them want to help and support each other instead of trying to disparaging someone for their own benefit. For example, Mahatma Gandhi, the leader of the pacifist movement against British rule in India, did not just work alone. He cooperated with a number of leaders, along with thousands of Indian citizens, to overturn the British empire. His feeling of cooperation and collaboration among the common people is what helped him garner such a large audience. This shows leadership can be better maintained with cooperation and it can even help maintain good relations of the leaders and their followers.

Similarly, Cooperation among the young people allows each person to present their thoughts, speak up in the crowd and thus, make everyone feel that they are a part of something. With cooperation, great ideas can be generated because many people work together to refine an idea, working together to correct all the possible fallacies. If people and their thoughts are more valued, then they are more likely to follow their leader.

However, a sense of competition can encourage people towards innovation. If there is a feeling of competition among the young people, then they are more likely to try to outrun the others by trying to be more unique or innovative than the other. For example, in industries like the technology, rapid development happens every day and new inventions are developed more often. One reason for this is the feeling of competion among the companies to try to make better products than their rivals. The leader can even use this feeling of competition to encourage their employees or followers to try to outsmart their rivals. So, the feeling of competion can even help in developing leadership qualities in young people.

In conclusion, the feeling of leadership can be better developed if society can instill a feeling of cooperation among the young people more than the feeling of competition. However, it is not to say, that competition doesn't develop feeling of leadership. Hence, I mostly agree with the statement that a feeling of cooperation can help better in leadership than competition.