The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo from the director of a large group of hospitals argues that the use of regular strength UltraClean hand soap be replaced with extra strength UltraClean hand soap at all hand washing stations throughout their hospitals. The argument is based on the evidence that concentrated UltraClean hand soap solution, in a controlled environment, reduced 40 percent more harmful bacteria than currently used liquid hand soaps and that the hospital at Worktown reported reduced cases of patient infection with the use of regular UltraClean hand soaps. Before the conclusion can be accepted, we need to answer three questions.

To begin with, can the results of an experiment in a controlled situation be applicable to real life as it is? Are the experimental condition and the condition in which the soap will be used in the hospital roughly comparable? The scientists on the controlled experiment probably assumed ideal conditions which are far different from the real situation. In reality, a lot of factors need consideration and the experiment needs to be conducted in a real environment. This will provide the scientists with insights on how the soap performs in reality and also, help them clear any loose ends. So, the experiments should be based on the situation in the hospitals instead of ideal controlled laboratory.

Similarly, Is the reason for the decrease in patient infections in Worktown hospital completely due to the use of UltraClean hand soaps? Isn’t it possible that the hospital takes special care in Patients hygiene and also, maintains strict regulations to prevent visitors without sterilization. For example, the hospital might encourage visitors to disinfect themselves as soon as they enter the hospital to prevent any spread of infection. Similarly, it is possible that the Hospital urges on keeping the hospital clean with regular disinfection in all regions. This strictness might have resulted in such an increase in infection reduction which is not seen in any other hospitals in the group. If the hand soaps were solely acknowledged as the cause of such reduction, other hospitals should have shown a similar level of reduction in patient infection.

Also, the controlled experiment achieved the solution using a concentrated solution of the hand soap. But, it is not clear if the final product will include the same level of concentration of the soap. If the concentration of the soap solution is different from the experiment it is likely that the result fails to achieve the same level of performance as expected by the scientists.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now doesn’t hold water. Before the given argument can be accepted more evidence is required (possibly, as a detailed analysis report) that clears all the fallacious assumptions and leads to a clear conclusion.