Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

As the prompt tells us, The publisher of Newsbeat recommends that the magazine stop its emphasis on political news and instead, focus on economics and personal finance. The argument is based on a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines suggesting that readers are more interested in economic issues than political ones and on the assumption that the decreased sales of the Newsbeat magazine with political news on the front cover. Before the argument can be accepted, we need to analyze three questions as explained below.

First of all, is Newsbeat magazine, even remotely, comparable to the General interest magazines? Can the results from a general survey be applicable to Newsbeat situation? Perhaps, the general interest magazines are catered to more generic public who are interested in personal finance and money management who prefer economic news. Maybe the readers in the survey don't include all categories of readers and might even be biased. Even if the results of the survey is apathetic and inclusive of all types of readers, it might not be necessarily true that the results will be beneficial for Newsbeat magazine. So, it is not certain that the survey results are good enough for making changes to the magazine.

Similarly, Are the readers of Newsbeat magazine and the general interests magazine the same? The general interest magazines cater to a variety of readers whereas Newsbeat magazine might be more specific in the contents of the magazine, focusing mostly on a particular topic. Similarly, the places where the magazine was sold might include readers who are not much interested in Political news.

Perhaps, there had been significant changes and development in economic sectors within the last three years because of which political news was overshadowed. The sales information from only three years might not be much to infer necessary information to predict if the readers are interested in politics.

Hence, the argument is flawd in different ways and the conclusion made is probably not true. Also, as the editor of Newsbeat suggests, the magazine should not change its content to economical as very few magazines offer extensive political coverage as done by Newsbeat which might be beneficial to the magazine to target a particular niche. Before the conclusion can be accepted, the unanswered questions must be analyzed to remove irrelevant assumptions.