Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the given argument, the author provides a plausible prediction but, bases his or her assumptions on a lot of faulty reasoning. The author predicts that the value of life-size sculptures will decrease in contrast to the miniatures, which will increase in value. The prediction is based on the assumptions that the new discovery will affect the prices of the sculptures. Before we can accept this argument and the prediction, we need to answer three questions.

To begin with, can the prediction of the value of a sculpture based solely on how the sculpture was created? Can we say that the value of the life-size clay statues will decrease based solely on the reasoning that it uses molds of clay or that there is not much use sculpting tools for its creation? The prices of such arts are based on a number of factors including the market status, the interest of the people and the quality of the sculpture. For example, the people might be more interested in keeping highly precise representational sculpture instead of abstract ones which might increase the value of the sculpture. If the author had better explained the possible factors affecting the value of the sculpture, then the argument might have been more cogent.

Secondly, Is the lack of sculpting tools due to the use of molds of clay by the Kalinese artists for making the sculptures? Isn’t it possible that a lot of the tools were lost or degraded with time, which might have led to such a lack of tools. Similarly, isn’t it possible that the Kalinese did use a lot of tools for their life-sized sculptures since it is said that it was highly precise and realistic? Archaeologists finding a few ancient tools doesn’t necessarily mean that there weren’t much to begin with. If we can get the answer to this question, the prediction might not be as plausible.

In conclusion, the author presents a good argument but it lacks strong evidence in the assumptions. As of right now, the argument doesn’t hold much water. If the author extends his or her research on the topic and develops the argument further by researching deeply on his or her assumptions and presents their findings as a detailed research report, the argument might be more believable.