Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island

but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic

precision.

Since

archaeologists

have

recently

discovered

molds

of

human

heads

and

hands

on

Kali,

we

can

now

conclude

that

the

ancient

Kalinese

artists

used

actual

bodies,

not

sculpting

tools

techniques,

to

create

these

statues.

This discovery

explains

why

miniature

were

abstract

entirely

different

in style:

could

be

only

for

life-size

sculptures.

It

also

few

been

found.

In

light

this

discovery,

collectors

predict

will decrease

in value

while

miniatures

increase

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the prediction.

Collectors cherish the life-size clay statues made on Kali island, but they are amazed that how Kalinese artists could create such precision realistic statues. Based on the discoveries on Kali by archaeologists, which are molds of human head and bodies, the author of the argument argues that these molds are used by ancient Kalinese artists for their sculpturing and they could have not used these molds for miniature statues. Therefore, collectors predict that the value of life-size sculptures will be heightened and the value of miniature statues will be declined. However, before the prediction can be properly evaluated, some questions must be answered.

First of all, are the molds of human heads and bodies, which are found on Kali, are used by ancient Kalinese artists for sculpturing the life-size statues? It’s possible that Kalinese used these molds for other purposes other than creating the life-size statues. Further, there is no guarantee that the molds belonged to Kalinese. Maybe, some traveler brought them to Kali and they did not bring them back with themselves. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the prediction drawn in the original argument will fall apart.

Another line of reasoning used in the original argument raises the question that are the molds found on Kali the main cause of the differences in style of the miniature statues and life-size sculptures? Perhaps, ancient Kalinese artists intentionally make different style of statues due to a curtain customer’s opinion. It’s plausible that in those days, in Kali, it was a popular trend among Kalinese artists that create miniature statues more abstract than the life-size human figure statues. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, the author naively concludes that the discoveries on Kali is the reason of finding few sculpting tools in Kali. What if other reason is responsible for the few Kalinese sculpting tools? Maybe, these tools were made of some material which cause the tools to be corrupted and decomposed during the time. Moreover, it’s likely that some natural phenomena such as flood, transported these tools to other region and archaeologists could not find them. If each of these assumptions proved to be solid, the argument will be invalid.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the pointed questions and offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the prediction stated by collectors that life-size human figure statues will increase in value and the miniature statutes degrades in value.