The following appeared as a memorandum from the Human Resources director at Dexter Gorman Instruments, a company that manufactures saxophones.

"On this year's survey about work habits, our employees tended to strongly agree with the idea that if they took less time to complete their assigned work, the quality of their work would suffer. However, we recently conducted an internal study that proves this idea wrong. Managers across several divisions identified an overtime group: the employees who worked an average of 48 or more hours per week over the past year instead of the expected 40 hours per week. We then looked at the number of documented work errors produced by all of our employees during the past year and found that the overtime group was responsible for significantly more work errors overall than their fellow employees. On the basis of these findings, our recommendation to the company president is to require employees at Dexter Gorman Instruments to complete their work during the regular 40-hour work week and allow overtime only for urgent circumstances."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memorandum, the human resources (HR) director of Dexter company recommends that employees at Dexter should work their regular 40-hours work week and on the urgent situations, they should be allowed to work overtime. The HR director adopts some unwarranted assumptions in his recommendations, and to evaluate this recommendation, the HR director should answer to some questions.

First of all, the survey about work habit shows that employee believe that if they work overtime, they would more productive and their work’s outcomes will be better. There is no sufficient information about the survey demographic and methodology. What were the survey’s questions? How many employees took part in that survey? Was the survey totally about the work’s hours and its relation to the work’s outcomes? Without answering to these questions, the assumptions used by the HR director will be unwarranted and the recommendation would not be valuable.

Moreover, the HR director claims that based on an internal study, the identified groups of overtime employees from several divisions made more errors that regular 40-hours workers. The HR director naively assumes that these groups of overtime employees are comparable. What are their divisions? How many employees were selected from various divisions? If one division is accounting, and another is quality controlling, it’s possible that long hours of work affected accountants more than the quality controllers due to their hard and detail-oriented job. The HR director should consider answering to these questions about the various groups of employees selected before reach the recommendation.

Finally, the HR director simply assumes that the overtime working of employees is responsible for their poor work. What if other factors are the reasons for their poor outcomes? Are they great and powerful employees? Are they satisfied by their jobs and salaries? If they believe that their income is not sufficient, they may not work hard to prevent errors. Also, it’s likely that the manager did not recruit strong employees and their work despite their consuming time would be awful and making errors is their routine jobs. In this case, the recommendation will be unsound.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to the considerably unwarranted assumptions. The HR director of Dexter company must answer to the pointed questions to be able to state a recommendation about the overtime employees’ productivity.