The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"Two studies of amphibians in Xanadu National Park confirm a significant decline in the numbers of amphibians. In 1975 there were seven species of amphibians in the park, and there were abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. One proposed explanation is that the decline was caused by the introduction of trout into the park's waters, which began in 1975. (Trout are known to eat amphibian eggs.)"

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The prompt proposes that the introduction of Trout to the Xanadu National Park is responsible for the decline of amphibian species within the park. It claims that the amount of amphibians have decreased from the value within 1975 thus the introduction in 1975 of trout eating amphibian eggs in particular is the causal factor. However this claim is extremely unsupported and flawed while ignoring more likely explainations.

To begin, now while it may be true that the population has decreased since 1975, there is no evidence to claim that the population began declining in 1975, or even declined consistently. Consider, someone who is in constantly declining health, particularly because of some disease. You could claim literally anything the person does is the cause of that decline if you just looked a set date something happened and then looked at their health in the future. You could claim that them switching from Pepsi to Coke was the cause of their health decline, clearly this is preposterous. Generally, it is mad to claim that a continuing trend is the result of something that happened after the trend began. Particularly in our case we require information showing that the population was not decreasing before 1975. As without that there is no way to access even the existence of a correleation between the addition of trout and the frog population loss nevermind a causal link.

Furthermore on this point, even in the event that the decline started after the addition of trout there is limited at best evidence that the fish is a reason. The postulate ignores more plausible explainations, which could easily explain the decline over time. For instance, both pollution and global temperature changes could affect the populations of the species. We already know that many species have already gone extinct as the result of climate change, it is very likely that amphibians could as well. Potentially due to the change in the temperature of the water affecting the food supply of the animals. For us to access whether or not the frog population decline could even being claimed to be the result of the trout it has to be demonstrated that the decline is the result of a decreased nominal amount of eggs that reach maturity. Without this it is not possible to access the causal link between the trout and the shrinking frog population.

Moreover even given the decrease of eggs, there is actually significantly evidence, that as a Alex Jones is known to refer to that water pollution can affect frogs reproduction cycle. So one would also need to show that there is exists no pollution in the water that could affect the fruitfulness of the frogs.

Overall, while it is possible that the frog's devastation is the result of the addition of trout, this claim is insufficiently or fallaciously supported. In particular the use of a decline from the selected date in 1975 does not prove that the devastation started in 1975. The prompt also ignores more plausible explainations such as pollution or the water temperature changing over time that need to be ruled out first before the accessment can be made.