We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To best learn one should glean from eclectic information. Yet, this does still leave open the question of whether or not those who you agree with, or disagree with, are most effective a having information imbibed into you. The prompt suggests that it is those who you have the most in common that can more effectively teach you, however I would dispute that. I would say that those who you disagree with in general can teach you more than those you agree with, and for this I present 3 reasons.

To begin consider the problem of information overlap. For those who you agree with you by definition share the same views; views for which are the result of postulates, or ideals, you believe to be true. When ideologically similar people tend to know the same set of facts, because no coincidently those facts are what shaped their belief in the first place. For instance, consider two people who are both say socialists. Two socialists would generally believe that wealth inequality is a systematic flaw in capitalism that is the result of class oppression, rather than some inherent human inequity of skill. They could potentially base this view on children being born to wealthy families tending to have more successful futures than those born to poor families. The problem with this, is it ignores one critical fact, namely that those who are smarter, tend to be wealther and tend to have smarter kids. So, due to their beliefs being so similar they are missing information, that if they had someone from with another view would not have been overlooked. Moveover they actually gain little by talking to eachother about the topic, since they both already know the facts that support their point of view.

Furthermore, listening only to people who agree with you can make you complacent. We as humans require constant mental challenge to keep us sharp. The most effective way of doing this is through challenging our held beliefs. Only by having our assumptions and ideals questioned can we really understand why they are true so, and understand their finer details. Consider a man who has all his life believed that eating in public is wrong. He believes it to be wrong, because his mother taught him it was wrong, and her mother before her. This man can go his entire life never understanding, or even thinking about why he thinks it is disrespectful, if he is never challenged. Moreover, if he was challenged he would be required to think why he believes it is disrespectful, why it ought to be discouraged. Only by being questioned on his belief can a induced need to truely understand the things one believes come into being, thus allowing them to learn at a more indepth level.

Adding on to this, only through challenge can we even know when are beliefs are wrong. It was assumed with the last example that the man would come to the conclusion that eating in public was rude, however that isn't necessarily true. I would say most people in the west do not consider eating in public rude, but without a challenge the man very could go his entire life never even questioning what he had been taught. A challenge from opposition can give arguments that the man has never heard of, ones that someone who agrees with would not know. Arguments that in particular can show a man he is wrong, which is something that can only be taught from those whom you disagree with.

In conclusion, it can be generally said that a mixture of both Pro and Con points of view is the superior way to learn, if you only could have one, a view contrary to your own is better for learning. This is because with people you disagree with, you can be taught where you are wrong, they induce you to understand why you believe the things you do, and finally you are kept sharp.