Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

When I think of the purpose of politics, I generally think of a method for which the country should be ran. Sticking to ones ideas while the 'purest' route, and definitely a honorable position is not wise. It is generally more pragmatic and thus beneficial for one to be willing to make compromise and come to concensus. Politics in the end is the method for which we determine how society should function, and thereforce we should be oriented towards the most 'functional' option.

A righteous man might choose to fight always for what he believes is the best possible solution to a problem. Yet, if he is unwilling to compromise he very well could achieve nothing. For you to get anything done in politics you need the support of people who agree with your beliefs. If you are too much of a stickler for 'pureity' you will discourage much of the support you would have had if you instead chose a more moderate position. Consider historically how democracy was slowly transitioned into being. In Canada we began with a two governing body system, with the senate and the house of commons, where originally the senate had far more power than the house of commons. The senate was appointed by the queen by proxy, and was a compromise to allow the subjects of Canada to have representation. If instead the many canadians refused any form of representation but a fully empowered house of commons, it is likely canadians would've got no representation for a long time, or until a American style war of independence occured. Assuming one does not want war, it was therefore necessary for compromises to be made achieve democracy in Canada. If Canadians refused to compromise war would've happened, and unlike the American's the masses might've lost, thus achieving nothing. It is thus sometimes necessary to moderate ones position to get things done.

Moreover, this assumes one actually in the end wants their ideals to be done. Sure, everyone wants their beliefs to be the ruling beliefs, but not everyone knows their ideals are correct. We as humans are not god. We do not have divine knowledge of the perfection of our ideologies. It is very much possible that when our ideals are put into practice that they do not have the desired result. Or worse are actually harmful for people. The best example of this is Communism. Communism, and particularly Marxism Leninism is a system that is based on the fundemental principle that all people should be equal. Off hand this sounds like a noble ideal, that ought to be fought for. However, this idea is extremely naive. Forcing all people into little all emcompassing boxes will lead to a less efficiently ran country. The human failiblity makes Communism a negative ideal for society, that is at this point resulted in the deaths of 100 million people. To continue to support this ideal despite the overwhelming negative outcomes of it, is a perfect example of the problem. People ought not to pursue what they believe things ought to be , but what works. Society and our method of deciding how to run it, politics, should be open to compromise.

Overall, while it is noble sometimes for one to dog for what they believe to be right, it is not practical. Politics is how we decide the way in which society is run. It is in general better to compromise as it leads to a better ran society. This is because it is sometimes necessary to compromise to get things done, and more over our ideals are based on limited information and not perfect.