Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

When it comes down to whether or not academic institutions should encourage people to study in specific fields there are a series of factors to be considered. While people should be allowed to study whatever subject they choose to, that doesn't mean that the university for instance, shouldn't encourage people into certain fields. I would say in general educational institutions should encourage people into fields that most need people. Since the purpose of education is to help people prepare for the future, encouraging but not forcing them into the most job abundant fields should be done.

When it comes to education, the purpose is to enable one to succeed after it's completion. Whether that be in a trade where one is taught the skills required for the job. Or even elementary school where learning to read will help one in life. One of the most effective way's to help one succeed is to put them on the right path. Say for instance a person isn't sure what to major in for university and are stuck between two majors. Let's say interpretive dance and computer graphics. It would be beneficial for the kids to be directed into a more lucrative direction with say computer graphics. Younger people do not know what will help them later in life, nor do they normally plan that far ahead. Thus to cajole people along the right path will make them more likely to be successful.

More over another aspect to consider is the success of society as a whole. The reason jobs tend to be abundent in a field is because they are in demand. Society has a dearth of people in those fields and needs them filled. Educational institutions can help to alleviate that dearth, by encouraging people into those fields. For instance if there is an abundent amount of jobs within welding that would imply there aren't enough people in welding to fill the jobs. By educational institutions encouraging people to go into fields requiring more people they are more optimially distributing resources. In words of Thomas Sowell "scarce resources with alternative uses" is what always should be considered in distribution. People are a scarce resource and there is always an opportunity cost of them being wrongly distributed. The market is wonderful way of determining where people are most needed. People going into already saturated fields not only hurts them, but hurts all of society. Thus I would say that it is preferable to encourage people into fields that have more jobs.

When it comes down to it, it is pragmatic and thus preferable to encourage people into fields with higher demand. Educational institutions should thus do this because that is both their purpose, and the optimal for all of society. Though it should be said there are some open questions with this. While it is wise to encourage people into more amp employment opportunities, the future prospects of those fields needs to be considered. People should not be encouraged into fields that are in demand now, but will have abundant opportunities in the future. One could if too much people were encouraged into a field over saturate it, hurting people. Now while, it is sometimes difficult to ascertain which areas will be still wanting in the future, I would still say, 'it's better than nothing'.