Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

The passage states that there is no one who can be considered as a hero in the communities. It is true that sometimes celebrities with their own achievements smudge his or her reputation with one’s wrongdoing, but there are many examples of hero we can think of both in the past and the present. I disagree with the statement and believe that there are many good people who can be considered as heroes.

Admittedly, no one is perfect: everyone makes mistakes and even sometimes does bad things wittingly. Someone who accomplished certain achievements and earned a reputation usually gets the temptation of the easier but wrong method to keep up what the person already built. For example, Barry Bonds who set one of the highest records of home runs in the history of Major League Baseball had been admired as a hero among those wanted to become baseball players like him. However, it was found that Bonds had been using a prohibited drug to increase the power of muscles so he could hit more home runs. Consequently, his reputation was terribly damaged and no one regards him as a hero.

Nonetheless, mistakes made by heroes are not always directly linked to them and people don’t mind small flaws of public figures. For example, Mahatma Gandhi, the Indian activist who led the Indian Independence movements against British colonial rule, wasn’t a good father to his son. Because the relationship with his son was so bad, the rumors were created about Gandhi’s personality and somewhat smudged his reputation. However, there is no doubt that Gandhi achieved his nation’s independence through the nonviolent method and he was one of the great figures in Indian History, especially during the hard time for his people.

Recently, everybody has smartphones and uses social media often. Many public figures and celebrities are more exposed to the public via social media than before; so, people get to see their every move, which makes a lot of arduous to protect reputations. On the other hand, thanks to social media, we hear about heroes around us in no time. Sadly, the news about mass shootings, which never should have happened, can be heard every year in the United States. In 2017 and 2018, there had been mass shooting tragedies in Las Vegas and Parkland, Florida. While traditional media such as TV news usually focus on a number of casualties or the shooters when tragedies happen, social media hold people’s eyes on the individuals who saved lives of others selflessly like Anthony Borges. Anthony Borges saved 20 of his classmates even though he took 5 bullets during Parkland shooting in 2018. Without a new type of media, we wouldn’t hear about his heroic act.

It seems extremely difficult to find flawless heroes these days; there is no doubt about that. However, small mistakes would damage the person’s reputation entirely and there are people out there who want to do good to others no matter how bad the circumstances are. I disagree with the author for the stated reasons above and believe that there is a good chance to see or hear a living hero.