"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

The argument claims that changing showerheads that reduce the water flow will increase the profit of the company. The author asserts that there is no major issue with new showerheads except a few complaints about the low water pressure along with other assumptions. It sounds reasonable at first glance, yet a closer examination of the argument reveals flawed assumptions resulting from weak or false reasoning.

To begin with, the argument claims that the change will conspicuously converse the water; therefore, it will result in a significant profit increase because the company pays the water bill for its tenants. However, the company made the conclusion even before actual readings of water usage before and after the change is reported. Because the company made an adjustment that reduces the water flow in the shower, tenants may have taken showers longer or more frequently, which would make no difference overall before and after the change. The claim that the adjustment is profitable was based on nothing but guess.

Furthermore, a few complaints don’t mean that the rest of the tenants are happy about the showerhead change. The company may not hear many complaints because the complaints procedure is so onerous that people have to spend more than half an hour. Some tenants may have thought that the change is temporary because it had been only a month. If the adjustment lasts more than a month, there will be more people to complain.

Finally, the company changed the showerheads in the first three buildings as a pilot project. Based on the stated assumption by the author, he or she says that it is reasonable to make the adjustment for all twelve buildings in the complex. I believe the author committed the mistake of making hasty generalizations. However, what if there are buildings which had chronic plumbing problems? There will be a substantial amount of complaints from the tenants in those buildings. A a large number of complaints from tenants may harm the reputation of the company, which will cause considerable losses in the long run.

In conclusion, the argument fails to provide enough evidence for the profitability of the recent adjustment on the showerheads because it primarily relies on the nonlogical and weak grounds stated above. Since the argument does not present reliable data on the actual use of water before and after the change and candid thoughts of all tenants about the adjustment, it lacks logical reasoning and evidence.