Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The research conducted by India Association of Democratic Reforms in 2012 concluded that as countries, especially India, are moving towards materialism, there is no hero whose image and reputation would always be immune because no one is immune to temptation and negative desires. The study also asserted that media would someday reveal the hidden truths underlying these heroes. While there are no reservations that any living person who is prone to media scrutiny cannot be considered as a hero because it is likely to expose his/her disreputable past, yet there are reasons to believe that some heroes can still be considered as hero and surprisingly they are alive and impeccable to media analysis. The politicians are more averse to media analysis since their one move, even if it is unintentional, can jeopardize their political career. But their image as a hero is often accepted after going through rigorous media investigation.

Further, the one reason that supports the idea of heroes that are alive and are open to media questioning is the perseverance of sportsmen who play with the utmost integrity and represent their country in a positive direction. The sportsmen are often involve in controversy related to match-fixing or machinating in order to favour one country, but honest among them disregard such practices and being declared exculpated by the court, later. A good example of this is the famous case of 2002 where Mr. Sachin, a famous cricketer worldwide, was alleged to venality by exchanging secrets and strategies of his team for the upcoming matches. His image suddenly got defaced. But because of his determination towards his country, he allowed all possible searches and investigation in his house. Later, the court acquitted him stating that it was a conspiracy because some countries had not wanted him to play in the matches which would certain the victory for his team. Since, then he was even highly regarded as hero by Indian fans. Therefore, some people who have morals and genuinely represents their country can be considered as hero and they are alive as well.

Moreover, another reason that buttresses the narrative of identifying the hero who is alive and open to media is the unstinting support for the welfare of others despite carrying on the commercial interests. Businessmen are often found in legal suits for resorting to unscrupulous methods to gain business contracts. But some of them are indifferent to such suits and continue to work towards society knowing that these suits are filed for mere defamation and have no content. This can be illustrated by the case of Reliance Company, where Mr. Ambani is regarded as hero for the business community, was indicted for getting the oil contracts in return of a favour to one political party. The share price of his business plummeted as news aired. But, he was certain that this suit was filed because he reached to pinnacle in short time along with the motive to serve community. Later, court exonerated him and concluded that suit had not had any merits since the name Ambani, the suit referred to, is of different person and not related to this businessman. His image as a hero further supported by this decision. Hence, heroes in business community who are open to scrutiny are often regarded as hero.

However, one idea that argues that no living person can be regarded as hero because of his/her exposure to media is that corruption and immorality have imbibed in every one that transpire after death of a hero. As the world moved from ancient time to modern or sophisticated times, societies witnessed drastic changes. The major change is the greed for money and power which has engulfed almost everyone. And these people often use authority to suppress media in order to hide their actual motives and in disguise are treated as heroes for the society. For instance, Late Mrs. Indira Gandhi was regarded as hero for the poor Indian society during 1979 to 1984 because she was considered as messiah for them. But after court judgements in 1992 and dissemination of secret papers in 1992 revealed after her assassination that she used her authority to suppress media and made huge amount of wealth under the guise of messiah. This judgement disappointed the Indian citizen and all were hopeless knowing that no one is a hero in reality without disguise and unquestionable power. Thus, heroes as long as they are alive are prone to use their unlimited influence to hide their motives but truth that transpires after their deaths reveals their cruel and wicked intentions.

As can be seen from above paragraphs that although heroes cannot be accepted as heroes when they are alive because of their undue influence over media and authorities, some heroes are in reality are hero for a society since their determination and morality are never compromised despite legal challenges. Therefore, society should wait for such moments before making presumptions on who represents the hero and who represents the disguise.