The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The research in 2017 conducted by Association of Democratic Reforms concluded that feedback is important, especially in politics, since people who are in charge for running the country must be willing to address the concerns of opposition groups as well. Moreover, feedback provides the opportunity to leader to look at one issue from different angles in order to find the overlooked areas. While there are no reservations that good leaders are those who encourage feedback mechanism, there are reasons to believe that such feedback often leads to waste of time, money and efforts that could have been better utilized. Feedback mechanism often involves multiple viewpoints for same issue which confound the leader and thus the leader finds himself/herself in quagmire and uses up precious time in ascertaining these viewpoints.

The first reason that supports the idea of running corporation without feedback is that some people are passionately follow their dreams and determined to achieve unprecedented results, but because of feedback their efforts are impeded. In corporate world, there are numerous examples of determined leader who had developed a product or service without heeding to the feedback given by their colleagues since they carry themselves with courage, perseverance and diligence which are required to be a successful leader. This can be exemplified by the development of Apple Mac computers, which Steve Jobs followed despite negative feedback from his colleagues that customers were accustomed to use computers with Microsoft applications. His perseverance led him to develop not only first computer without Microsoft application but also a computer which was free from any virus attack and it was the most elegant computer ever built that reinvigorated the Apple Corporation. Thus, leader should ignore feedback since colleagues do not know the passion of a leader which would bring landmark discovery.

Second though that buttresses the idea of repudiating the feedback and continuing with virtues gained through the analysis and study of poor and deprived sections of the society is that feedback often contradicts the virtue and thus prevents welfare measures. During the reign of British Society in India for more than two hundred years, many proponents of freedom stood against Britishers, but conceded because of differences in opinions and feedback among these proponents. A good example of this is Mahatama Gandhi who followed non-violence throughout his freedom struggle against Britishers. His biography released in 1956 concluded that the foundation of his perseverance and determined approach for non-violence was his understanding of the poor and deprived sections of India. During his struggle many other leaders were dubious about his intention of replacing the British imperial with that of Indian only by non-violence. Many leaders joined his pursuit and left because of the inconsistencies found in his and their virtue. However, in 1947 India got independence with the struggle that Britishers touted as non-violence. Therefore, feedback from friends, colleagues and co-workers is temporary and act as a hindrance to one's virtues.

However, one argument that upholds the idea of feedback is that it provides the opportunity to leader to understand issues from different angles. In political circle, especially during the time when laws are promulgated, it is necessary for a leader to support feedback since politicians sway by their vested interest and feedback from all concerned helps leader to understand the legislation comprehensively. For instance, the passing of AADHHAR Act in 2017 created raucous since this act mandated people to avail Government subsidies only with AADHHAR numbers. The motive of the Government was to prevent leakage and corruption in the subsidy distribution. The feedback from opposition was related to the misuse of data collected through AADHHAR Act and opposition suggested to create a vault for safeguarding the data. The leader of the parliament appreciated the concerns of opposition and established AADHHAR vault for prevention of data leak. Hence, feedback provides the opportunity to leader to fill the gap in process of achieving unprecedented results.

As can be seen from above paragraphs that although feedback affords the chance to leader to look at the issue from different angle and addressing it by allaying the concerns of opposition, it often prevents the discovery of novel ideas. Moreover, feedback comes from people who are seasoned and thus, by nature, reluctant to adopt or accept new ideas. Therefore, feedback must not be promoted for the discovery of new things.