The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer argues that the customer should stop buying products that are produced by Crust Copper Company (C.C.C.) in order to prevent the company from establishing its facilities in West Fredonia. It is based on the premises that the company had purchased a land in West Fredonia where animals are already in precarious conditions and moreover, the operations of the company would lead to pollution. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of unstated assumptions and logical flaws.

First such assumptions is analogy between the principal business of the company and the intention of doing it on the land that was purchased last year. However, it is possible that the company might have purchased the land for other business such as for establishing solar power plants which would make the argument significantly weak. It is possible that the company might have sudden revelation that its operations are affecting the environment that it has decided to compensate that with the business of solar power plants that would prevent energy consumption. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the writer should state facts from research concerning the plans of the company and should also prove that this company had purchased land only for mining.

Secondly, the writer’s argument is incorrectly based on the assumption of consumer inclination towards buying copper products that would be produced on this land. However, there may be the case that this land was purchased for the export plans of the company which would make the argument unreliable. The company might have decided that owing to significant competition in the domestic market, it should venture into export markets. Moreover, this land would produce copper products that would not be sold in the domestic market. Hence, to make the argument more reliable, the writer should verify the facts from authorities pertaining to objective of the company for buying a land and should also assert that company would produce products for domestic markets as well and customers are currently buying products that are being manufactured by this company.

Finally, the writer has arbitrarily assumed that this company would not implement any measure to compensate the environment effects because of its mining business in West Fredonia. However, it is possible that the company might have acquired a land after obtaining approval from environmental authorities which would make the argument unacceptable. The company might have required as prescribed by this authority that all necessary measures would be put in place to neutralize the impact of its mining business and in certain cases company would relocate the animals at its own cost to some other location. Thus, to make the argument acceptable, the writer should check facts from the authorities about the mandatory conditions on which permission was granted for buying the land and should also demonstrate that company would fail to fulfil its obligations.

After close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how this argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound in order to evaluate the proposed action.