People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Behavior is as complex as universe”. It intends to state that the more we know about the universe including galaxies, black hole, formation of all stars and moons, our confidence starts shaking and make us believing that we know little. It goes with behaviour as well. More the scientists had tried to understand the probable causes of changes in it, lesser confident they are about its change. The prompt presents a case where behaviour is largely influenced by forces. In my view, I strongly agree with the statement and would support it by saying that external forces quell the natural forces of brain and thereby, causing the behaviour to react to the force. The reasons justifying my reasoning are mentioned in the following paragraphs.

First of all, when it comes to protect the interest of a country or secure its sovereignty or practise a dubious diplomacy, behaviour of a head of a state is largely influenced by the forces present in the environment. For example, when USA started to put sanctions on North Korea, its economy started to feel the downward pressure and head of North Korea with the intention to retaliate, started testing nuclear ballistic missiles. His behaviour was suddenly changed in response to the actions taken by USA. Further, when the USA withdrawn from the pact restricting the development of nuclear weapons by Iran, its oil exports crumbled and it came under heavy budget deficit. To respond to these actions swiftly, it seized the British vessel sailing through the Strait of Homuz and Britain in return seized its vessel sailing to Egypt. Here also, the sudden and unpredictable actions were caused by forces. Both the examples prove that behaviour of national leaders are also susceptible to forces. It matters because even if the mind of these leaders cannot cope with forces, how it is acceptable that person of humble nature would escape from a force.

Secondly, when it comes to competition be it in school, sports and corporate sector, forces determine the behaviour of a person. For example, when Reliance introduced its telecommunication services at very low price, it rattled the whole industry including the 15 year leader in this industry, i.e. Airtel. It responded to Reliance action not by thinking logically about the hidden motives behind its actions, but slashed its race even at much lower levels than that of Reliance causing Airtel to suffer first time quarter loss in last 12 years. Further, when L&T showed its interest in buying out the Mindree, the shareholders and owners of Mindtree were anxious not knowing what to do to escape from such a hostile takeover bid. They started approaching their lenders and made unreasonable offers to pay them at higher rate but in return asking them not to sell its share to L&T. In this behaviour which was the result of a force, caused its shareholders to lose its market value. Both the instances justify that where it is a norm that people take decision after careful market analysis, also act randomly to a force. It is significant since the inherent desire to beat the competition falls short of proving its mettle against adverse times.

Thirdly, as it comes to saving the country from one of the most financial crisis and proving that government is committed to reform, actions are largely influenced by forces. For instance, when India was battling against the systemic risks, it called Mr. Viral Acharya, a renowned professor in economics having a specialisation in systemic risks, to come to India and show your love for the country you were born in. The abrupt decision of financial bodies catch the attention of a force and acted in this manner. Further, when Mr. Nirav Modi, a diamantaire, was carrying the illicit transactions with bankers in India, everything was under control and he was responsible for earning the foreign exchange for India by exporting its consignments. However, as the scam unravelled, he showed timidity and fled the country to escape the indictment which made him from the riches to one of the poorest in few days. His actions was also responded to an external force. Both the cases validate the claim that behaviour of person even in stressed environment react to the force. It is appreciable since the probability of a behaviour in a danger situations to react in unpredictable manner is very high.

Of course, some would argue that though the behaviour is manageable by person’s own style such as deciding the career options after college or choosing a wife/girlfriend on the basis of person’s own choices and preferences. However, the critics must understand that their preferences and choices were even made by the force existing at the first place. For example, person choosing a career of finance because of its lucrative pay and incentives. Therefore, while concluding, the behaviour which is surrounded by many forces in the environment, is forced to act as per the forces leaving its conscience.