The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The memorandum sent by the President of Humana asserts the development and promotion of online programs since it would help Humana to increase its enrolment and reduce its costs as it happened with Omni during the last year. The prediction here, does not make a cogent case since it is rife with holes and assumptions. Therefore, before evaluating the prediction following three questions must be answered.

First of all, does Omni and Humana comparable? In other words, is it justified to use the facts of implementing online programs by Omni for comparison with Humana despite significant differe...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.