The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The prompt states that birth order of a money and human leads the production of a specific hormone in a stimulating environment. It has cited above on the basis of a study which provide indication on the effects of birth order on the stimulation level which in turn encourage the production of a hormone. However, the prompt does not make a cogent case since it is rife with several unstated assumption. Before the prompt can be properly evaluated for the facts, it is necessary to collect and test the following explanations.

First of all, do humans and monkeys comparable? In other words, is it prudent to assume that what has caused first born monkey has also caused the same thing to first born human? It may be specious. For instance it may happen that a first born monkey is stimulated by seeing an unfamiliar monkey for the first time but first born human may not at all stimulated by seeing his parent after a long absence since he left his parents at his will or probably he may be nonchalant when he meets them. Further, it may also happen that monkey and human react in totally opposite manner. For instance, as biological research shows that an infant inherently attached to its biological mother. If it has to follow, then first born human to a surrogate mother and first born monkey to a biological mother may react disparately. If any of the above instances were true, then the explanation does not hold water.

Secondly, do all first time mother monkeys react in the same manner? In other words, is it provident to assume that all first time mother monkey, be it through natural process or in a clinic by a vet, react in the same direction? It may be spurious. For instance, it may likely that first time mother monkey in natural habitat may react with no stimulations but first time mother monkey in a hospital may react offensively. Further, it may also happen that mother of several offspring may react in a most stimulating manner when encounter with the changed situations for the first time such as it has been taken to a hospital by vet because of complications but first time mother monkey may not feel anything apart from continuous sleep and calm because of some medical disorders. If any of the above examples hold merit, then the explanation is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, do the study on eighteen monkeys explain the behaviour of entire species? In other words, is it wise to assume that what has been transpired in the study of eighteen monkeys will continue to hold for the whole species? The results may be misleading. For instance, it may happen that this study was conducted in controlled environment with added medications and vaccinations which may pushed these monkeys to react in a desired manner. The result may be different when such study would be conducted for large number of monkeys in a natural habitat. Further, the explanation also must be sought on the environment under which this study was conducted. Since, it may happen that these results may not be replicated when same method would apply on the monkeys living in the jungles or, perhaps when these monkeys are living in a frigid environment since the research has shown that in a below freeze environment stimulation of any kind is futile due to inert state of blood cells to maintain the heat in the body. Unless the explanation is reliable and widely tested, it is not possible to effectively support it.

The prompt as it stands now, is completely flawed because of its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the scientist are able to produce more explanations, perhaps in the form of large number of monkeys studied in different environment for a longer duration, then it is possible to fully evaluate viability of the explanation.