Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of KICK in Medway argues that KICK must include call-in programs in order to achieve large number of listeners in its markets. This is based on the premises that similar call-in programs implemented 2 years ago in WCQP had helped WCQP to increase its share in market and market survey has indicated also the penchant of many listeners for such programs. The argument seems right at first sight, however, on deeper analysis, it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of unanswered questions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the question on cause and effect. In other words, the manager of KICK has assumed that implementation only of call-in programs had caused significant increase in listeners of WCQP. However, there may be other factors which might have lured the listeners to like WCQP such as less number of advertisements during the program. For example, in 2018, a study conducted by the market research company analysed the most compelling reasons existed among listeners for choosing one particular radio station over others. The study concluded that listeners were willing to listen those radio programs which have no or very less advertisements during the program. Therefore, in order to strengthen the argument, the manager of KICK should would need to ascertain other reasons responsible for increase in listeners of WCQP.

Moreover, the argument of manager of KICK station is based on the unanswered question on sampling. In other words, the manager of KICK has assumed that call-in programs would help KICK to increase its listeners since it had helped WCQP. However, there may be conditions which do not hold this relationship viable since market conditions of these two stations may be different or not comparable at all. For example, the manager of KICK may find on deeper analysis that markets in which WCQP operates have significant number of people who are stressed or nervous due to the apprehension of losing jobs in the wake of recent economic turmoil in Rockville. Thus, these listeners are eager to call to the radio station and ask for advice. But the market in which KICK operates is such where listeners are jovial or in high spirits since economy of Medway is booming. Therefore, to overcome this flow, the manager should provide answers on the existing market conditions in these two different locations.

Finally, the manager of KICK must answered on many radio listeners who are interested in call-in advice programs. In other words, the manager has assumed arbitrarily that many number intends to mean significant proportion of total population of a Nation. However, there may be a case when these numbers are large when one has to view them in isolation but when these numbers are considered in relation to their size in total population of a Nation, it transpires that these are just less than 30 per cent of the total population. For example, a survey conducted by market research firm in 2016 in India concluded that though the 14 million people showed preference to one radio station but it is just 11 per cent of the total population of India which means this number of 14 million is not acceptable. Therefore, manager of KICK should consider the numbers of these many people with the total population of a Nation.

While concluding, it can be said that after close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that there are several logical unanswered questions. The recommendation which the manager has provided can be strengthened by answering questions as described in above paragraphs and made more logically sound. Without these answers, the recommendation is significantly weakened.